July 19, 2011

As part of the activities to commemorate the 2000th Test Match, which was held at Lord’s between England and India on Thursday the ICC – International Cricket Council decided to create the dream team. A team that now includes the greatest test cricketers of all time.

The players were voted by millions of people around the world on the official website of ICC – International Cricket Council.

The players who were voted the greatest test cricketers were selected over a span of 134 years. The final team consists of famous players: Virender Sehwag (IND), Sunil Gavaskar (IND), Donald Bradman (AUS), Wasim Akram (PAK), Sachin Tendulkar (IND), Brian Lara (WIS), Kapil Dev (IND), Adam Gilchrist (AUS), Shane Warne (AUS), Curtly Ambrose (WIS), Glenn McGrath (AUS).

Wasim Akram, a cricket legend, the pride of Pakistan was overwhelmed at the news and expressed his feelings in the following words:

“It is an honour for me to represent my country in this elite eleven…thanks to my mentors over the years to help me where I am now and I dedicate this achievement to my late and lovely wife, Huma Akram. She was the main force behind me.”

Countries like India and Australia who have four representatives in the team, Wasim Akram stands tall as the only Pakistani Representative and we all know that he will uphold this title with utmost humility and utter responsibility.

TeamWAL bids the ‘sultan of swing’ the very best for his induction in the ICC Test Dream XI…!

For more information: info@wasimakramlive.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *